How to Remove “Picked For You” on Pinterest

Pinterest is about the best thing that has ever happened on the internet for people like me. I *love* to keep bins of images that inspire or inform my art process. Then the folks at Pinterest had a crazy invention: Picked For You pins! They devised some algorithm that would find pins I might like, based on my boards, and fed these pins into my feed. I don’t know about you, but I really have not found computers to be good at understanding my  artistic taste. Not Pandora, not Amazon books, and not Pinterest. And these “picked for you” pins were getting more and more frequent. My very painstakingly personalized feed was being overrun with them.
Amazingly, I was able to get rid of ALL the “picked for you” pins. Here is how you do it:

1. log into your pinterest account via your computer’s web browser. Click on the gear icon in the upper right corner and choose Edit Settings.

2. Under Personalization, you will find two controls:

“Use sites you visit to improve which recommendations and ads you see ”

“Use information from our partners to improve which recommendations and ads you see”

toggle both of these to NO.

3. Voila!

(Note: this technique does not get rid of promoted pins, which I am fine with. They have a right to make money on their great invention through a little advertising.)

 

Now, a disclaimer.  I did this about a month ago and it did not seem to make a difference. But when I restarted the app, the dreaded pins were gone!  It seems to me, also, that there was an additional step you might have to do in your browser, but going back and trying to find the instructions I originally followed  (google: turn off picked for you on pinterest), has been impossible. So follow above instructions and let me know if this works for you!

Happy Creating and Pinning!

Melinda

 

 

11 thoughts on “How to Remove “Picked For You” on Pinterest

  1. Doesn’t work. I have had it on since I first found out about it.
    I have not only restarted Pinterest, but internet AND computer, and it still doesn’t work.
    Also, marking the individual pins with either “I’m not interested in pins selected according to my pins” nor “I’m not interested in this pin, because I am not interested in pins bla bla bla” doesn’t work. The same pins pop up over and over again, changing only after I have pinned something else X-[
    It’s so bad that I haven’t seen the pins the people I follow for some time now, unless I go to their account and check it actively out.
    I know you can’t do anything about that, it’s probably some sort of glitch or something, just letting you know that it might not work for everyone. 🙂

    Have a nice day!
    Ket

    Like

    1. Hi Ket,

      Yes, I was just noticing a few weeks ago that Pinterest seems to be using a new algorithm for its Picked For You pins. Suddenly they reappeared in my feed, but are much more accurate as to what I would want to see. So the fix is no longer working and the pins are not as bad. Still, I would prefer not to have them. If I find a new fix I will post it again.
      Thanks for reading, and also letting us know this post is hereby obsolete.
      Melinda

      Like

      1. If you go to your setting and clear your browsing and cache history before you sign off every time they disappear. The first time in over three years I have liked my Pinterest again. No ads or picked for you. Hope it last.

        Like

Leave a Reply

